Opinions

May 12, 2017

It’s been a while since I wrote one of these… lots of reasons but none of them earth shattering. So with that being said…

I’m not a tattoo guy. Never have been.  I spent 4 years in the Navy where tattoos were practically invented and I didn’t have any inclination to permanently scar my body.  But, that’s just me I guess.  I realize it’s just a fad like bell bottoms and long hair were “back in the day.”  Of course, when the fad was over I just threw my bell bottoms away and got my hair cut… not sure what some of the tattoo folks will look like 20 years from now.  I read recently that 25% of people with tattoos are getting them removed.  I’m also occasionally struck by people who can’t seem to get together enough money to buy food but they somehow manage to spend thousands of dollars on tattoos.  Can you say “bad life choices?”

I especially don’t get the overzealous people with tattoos all over their body and faces. Really?!  Can you say “mental issues?”  Listen, I understand tattoos for the most part.  It’s what people are doing and most of us are followers and faddy.  (Not fatty… but that too.)  Just please don’t make the claim that you are somehow an “individual” a “trend setter” or an “art display.” You are not.  Well, depending on what one calls “art” but that is another conversation all together.

Someone is going to say, “Who do you think you are to make judgments about others?” Um… I’m actually allowed to have an opinion.  Not only am I not a tattoo person, I’m not a beach person either.  Is that okay?  I suspect it is.  That being said I am occasionally forced to get sand all through my belongings, my eyes, my bathing suit, my mouth and my food to satisfy a craving that Ellen gets.

Here’s the problem. We have been taught by our culture that it is not possible to care about people or love them if we disagree with their choices in life.  Many have drunk that Kool-aid.  It is a lie!  A bold faced, manipulative, destructive lie.  Those who believe that, among many other things, have never had children.  I do not agree with some of the decisions my kids have made but I love them beyond words.  And Ellen and I don’t agree on all things (this tattoo thing is one of them) and yet I’m pretty sure we love each other…. Well, until she reads this maybe.

Don’t tell me who I love and who I don’t love. Is it true that some (maybe even many) have chosen to not love those they disagree with… YES!  Of course that is true.  And if you are a Believer and in that category you are in sin!  But it does not have to be that way.  Don’t get me wrong.  We do not have to like or love all “practices” but we must love our neighbor as ourselves and we must pray for our enemies.  Pretty sure Jesus said that.  And it is absolutely true that on occasion we need to tell people that we love… “NO!”  To not tell them that is sometimes the cruelest thing we can do.  So assenting to the behavior or practices of others is not always loving.

All of that being said, I think I shocked Ellen and my kids the other day when I told them that I saw a tattoo that I liked and approved of. There were actually two.  One was a mother who got a copy of her daughter’s birth mark tattooed onto her hand.  The other was a mother and father who got matching birthmarks on their legs to copy the one their child was born with.  I was brought to tears.  Now those are worthwhile scars to attach to your body.  Just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

