Easter

March 17, 2016

Hey guess what?  IT’S ST PATRICKS DAY!  WHOO, WHOO!  Okay that’s as much celebration of that as I can stand!

I don’t know what your Easter was like growing up.  Maybe it was similar to mine… or maybe some of the things I remember will resonate with you.  Allow me to reminisce a bit.

  • Easter meant new dresses for my sisters. Since my two youngest sisters were only a year apart and were often thought to be twins, their dresses often were the same or very similar.
  • Easter meant “bonnets” for the ladies. “In my Easter bonnet, with all the frills upon it…”
  • Easter meant family coming for dinner… ham and scalloped potatoes.
  • Easter meant looking for my good shoes the night before. I had shoes that were reserved for special occasions. That meant I wore them once or twice before they didn’t fit me any longer.
  • Easter meant flowers blooming.
  • Easter meant an egg hunt in our living room. I can recall finding eggs months later that my mother forgot about.
  • Easter meant chocolate bunnies, jelly beans, marshmallow chicks, malted milk eggs, and some very large jelly bean looking/candy coated things with white, very sweet confection inside.
  • Easter meant a bushel basket of fruit from our grandparents. They were ahead of their time.
  • Easter meant eating on the family good china that I can see from where I’m sitting right now. I can’t bear to use it anymore. Too emotional… and fearful it will get broken.
  • Easter meant going to church for one of the few times in the year. Not my dad however.
  • Easter meant ladies with corsages.
  • Easter meant some sort of sport coat or other item of clothing that I NEVER wore any other time of year.
  • Easter meant a bow tie… see above.
  • Easter meant a bath and clean underwear… whoops did I just write that?
  • Easter meant good feelings because there was a sense of “family.”
  • Easter usually meant my cousin Glenn coming over… that was always a highlight for me.
  • Easter meant making “bonnets” in school. Even the guys had to do it. I always thought it was stupid… still do. I suspect it was the result of a woman-dominated educational system. At least in the elementary classrooms anyway.
  • Easter meant light blues, greens, yellow… everything.
  • Easter meant dying eggs… and those wax crayons.
  • Easter meant the Easter Bunny. An odd aside… I have no memory of ever believing in Santa Claus. I guess because I was the last to come along (other than my youngest sister who came 10 years after me.) Anyway, I think because I had 3 older sisters they just couldn’t keep up the Santa charade. But strangely enough I do recall believe in the Easter Bunny! Go figure.
  • Last year on the way to the Easter Sunrise Service I hit and killed a rabbit with my car… weird… eggs went everywhere. 😉

Maybe you noticed a certain lack of something in my memory banks.  Yeah… not a lot of Jesus there.  Matter of fact, there are NO memories of Jesus within the context of Easter for me.  I guess like most kids I was so caught up in the paraphernalia that the actual significance just went right over my head.  Or it was never even directed at my head.  It could be that the significance of the most important week and day in the Christian faith is too difficult for young children to grasp.  Could be.  I think there are some legitimate “excuses” for kids not “getting it.”  But honestly what is “our” excuse (“our” meaning “adults”)?  What reasons do we give for not recognizing what occurred on that first Holy Week?  Well certainly, if the Christian faith is just not your thing, I understand that.  And frankly I applaud those who don’t go to church because it’s “just the thing to do on Easter.”  Why get caught up in that hypocrisy?  But for those who claim to belong to Jesus, you are without excuse.  You know better.  You ought to rejoice in the notion that at a time and place in history the God of the Universe went to a cross for you and defeated death on that first Easter morning.  Go ahead and do the bunnies and clothes and ham dinners.  But let us not forget what is truly important about the events of the first Easter.  Let us not forget the cosmic significance of a cross on a hill outside of Jerusalem.  Let us not forget the events that lead to forgiveness and salvation.  Let us not forget.

One thought on “Easter

  1. Yep. Ditto all those remembrances. But in my case Jesus was central. Sunrise service was a favorite . shalom my friend.

Leave a Reply

