JUST FOR THE HECK OF IT

February 26, 2016

I think I may have mentioned previously that Ellen and I watch ZERO contemporary television.  (Well, except for Steeler games.) What I mean by that is everything we watch comes via a DVD or “streaming” where the shows are at least a year old. Frankly it simply allows us to pick and choose what we want to enter into our living room and our brains through the TV. We are not interested in being at the mercy of local broadcasting. Much of the programming we watch is British. One of our favorite shows is “Doc Martin.” It’s about a highly qualified surgeon who finds himself (mostly against his will) practicing General Medicine in a very small coastal town in England. To say he is a curmudgeon is to WAY understate the case. As you can imagine, part of the show is about the strange array of patients and “unique” characters who inhabit the village. There have been a number of episodes where folks come to him with a variety of symptoms looking for a prescription that will offer a quick fix.  In some cases they try to deceive him into getting their drugs.  It strikes me that that describes our world doesn’t it? We want quick fixes. We want things and we want them now. The cheaper the better.  And of course, the less effort the better as well.

BTW does anyone believe politicians when they say, “I trust the American people.”  Because if they do they are either nitwits or they are saying something that is other than true (how surprising would that be?!).  Or what about when they say, “What the American people want is….”  Um…. Which American people are we talking about here?

Why is it that when people choose not to go to church it’s almost always someone else’s fault?  Seriously?  Take responsibility for your choices.  Stop blaming your life on someone else.  You don’t go to church because, for most folks, you choose not to do so.

Honestly… sometimes when I see folks in a store that I know, I deliberately avoid them.  I just don’t want to deal with (fill in the blank.)

Ellen and I rarely go out to eat.  When we do it’s usually someplace not near where we live.  Why?  See above.

Why is the standard for driving, “my driving”??  Know what I mean?  “Too fast” means people who drive faster than I do.  “Too slow” means people who drive slower than I do.  Too long in the passing lane refers to those who are blocking my way in the passing lane.  Boneheads who pull out in front of me are much more irresponsible than I am when I do it. It’s a mystery.

Why do so many sons have “father issues”?

Why do so many daughters have “mother issues”?

Does family history get more important as we get older?  If so, how come?

When Jesus said, “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” he must have meant something else right?

Pastors of the fastest growing churches in America are for the most part not seminary graduates.  Hmmmmm… I wonder what that means?

I can’t do things physically that I could 30 years ago.  WHAT is that all about?!

It doesn’t seem like I think much differently than when I was 18… oh my goodness!

I have a 45th high school reunion coming up in a year or so… gotta go hang with old people.

If we don’t like parts of the Bible, or think them too difficult or outdated and we ignore them.  Where do we stop?

When Jesus said he was the only way to the Father, he couldn’t have meant that literally, could he?  That must be a metaphor for something else.

Racism is alive and well in your neighborhood and maybe in your home.  For those who don’t believe that, I have some property to sell you.

Sin and depravity are even more alive and well.  I have other stuff to sell also.

Is marriage becoming an outdated institution?  I refer to old timey marriage.  You know, man and woman stuff.  I know I’m old fashioned.

I have performed marriages for folks who have lived together for years.  I’m glad they get married I guess, but I really don’t get it.

I have never met a young couple who know why we baptize babies.  They just know they are supposed to get their “kid done.”  Or grandma is pressuring.  And grandma doesn’t know why we do it either.  I guess that’s probably the fault of clergy… seriously.

Someone called the church last week looking for the phone number of a person who attends a few events at Mt Vernon but doesn’t actually go to the church so I had no information.  Guess what the caller said?  “That’s okay I’ll look it up in the phone book.”  Seriously… who does that anymore?  Or who even knows what that is?

I have an idea… slap a smile on your face every time you see someone on a cell phone… it might change your life!

One thought on “JUST FOR THE HECK OF IT

  1. Bill I just lost one of my favorite friends. He had been on dialysis for 36 years. Dr’s had mis prescribed a medication that led to brittle bones and he had seven hip replacements and lots of other surgeries. He once broke a bone in his leg by stepping on it. He was in a wheel chair all the time and didn’t have any bone in his leg for about 8 inches. His eyes were failing due to wet macular degeneration. His faith was important and we knew each other really well after seven years of small groups together. He was not bitter and for the most part not depressed. His attitude was you have to play the cards you are dealt and not complain. He is a real role model for me and I can’t wait to see him again. His wife is very much a proverbs 31 woman who is amazing. John >

Leave a Reply

