A.D.D.

May 26, 2015

Okay so… outside of spiritual realities, you and I are a big walking, talking, chemical/electrical reaction. And of course those reactions are controlled by our own personal computer called the Brain. What makes us unique then, outside of our physical appearance, is the gray matter enveloped in our heads. I don’t claim to have any idea how all of the sequences in our brains develop, I just know they do. And I know that all of our brains work differently. That’s what makes us… us. So I want to share a little bit of my brain with you. You can stop reading now if that sounds scary.

Here we go:
Ellen has been telling me for years that I have A.D.D. I’m not really so sure abou…
wait a minute I think I heard someone outside in the hallway…
nope, as I was saying, the sermon on Sunday is one of the fruit of the Spirit found in Galatians 5 entitled…
I wonder what we’re going to have for dinner tonight…
I miss my kids with them being all over the…
This whole A.D.D. thing bothers me. I don’t like the notion that I should live my life with an excuse for not being able to concentrate for…
Spaghetti… maybe with meat balls…
I’m sure glad Ben got the weed wacker fixed on Saturday
“faithfulness”…. Galatians 5:22…
David is moving to Indianapolis IN this weekend… excited for him but…
Isn’t that where the Colts play…
So if it’s easier to throw a ball with less air and the NFL wants to increase offense… why not just…
Maybe chicken salad…
My knee hurts…
There are baby sparrows outside my window…
That reminds me… I will be away much too much this Summer… I need to…
Are there hard boiled eggs in chicken salad?
Anyway, back to what I was saying before about fixing Ben’s car…
We are going to start Stephen Ministries in the Fall… I’m really excited about that…
Speaking of excited… Ben and Alissa are both getting married in the Fall… that should be fairly easy right?
It was easier to fix the washing machine yesterday than I thought it would be.
Speaking of things being easy… not golf…
I wonder where Rebekah is right now?
Michael and Bev Harrar will be here next week when we look at Galatians 5:22… “gentleness”…
I wonder how long those sparrows will make noise before they are old enough to fly away?
Speaking of flying… I’m afraid of heights…
I think the A.D.D. is a little bit overdone…
I made steak yesterday… it was overdone…
Should we have salad with the spaghetti?
Okay… enough of that…
Ha… A.D.D. my foot!

In Ephesians chapter 1 we are confronted by some amazing verses:
4 For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love 5 he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.

The simple truth is this. God knew us from before the creation of the world. After all, how could we be “chosen” by God if we were not known by God? I could be wrong but I think this meant God knew “us” as individuals, as human beings, who we would become, how our brains would work. Think about that. God knew you before you knew you. And if you are one of “Christ’s ones” then you, with all your foibles and imperfections have been adopted into God’s family. Even if your brain works in ways at times that are not so… pleasing to God, or efficient… you were still chosen. And get this… with God’s full knowledge of your weirdness.

Frankly, my chemical and electrical reactions often frustrate me. The gray matter does things I don’t like or want to do. And that in itself is a mystery. But for some reason God loves me anyway and wants me sitting at the heavenly table with the family. I rejoice in that. I pray that you rejoice in it as well.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

