Old age

September 16, 2014

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH……

You’re never going to believe what happened this morning. It was about 6:15 and I jumped out of bed… well okay maybe “jumped” isn’t quite accurate. I… um… creaked and groaned out of bed. As I passed the mirror in the bathroom I looked and, again… you will simply not believe what I saw…. My hair is ALL GRAY! At least what’s left of it is. I know… right?! When did that happen? When I went to tell Ellen she informed me that my son David is 37… WHAT! It was only yesterday that I was reading bed time stories to him. And then she went on to inform me that we have three other children as well. When will this nightmare end? I was just beginning to get my head together when I went out into the driveway and saw something called a Kia Soul parked there… where is my 1963 Corvair?!?! What’s happening here? Where could all those years have gone? Decades of my life just… vanished. The earliest memories of my childhood include my maternal grandparents living next door. They were the age I am now. How is that possible? I mean… they were OLD! Well okay, enough of that.

I heard a dynamic speaker recently. He used a phrase over and over again, “Life is short.” We all have heard that and I’m sure many of us have said that. His point however was this, “Don’t wait to do what you are called to do. If you are a Christian you have a calling in life… figure out what it is and get to it because ‘life is short.’” If you are anywhere close to my age or older you know that decades can slip by while we leave things undone. “Life is short.” None of us want to stand before the Lord (and I confess I have no idea how this will all play out) and have Him say, “So, what were you doing? I had things for you to accomplish!”

I know I know… some of us will say that we don’t have the resources to do what God has called us to do. Oh contraire! If we don’t have the resources it’s because we have not looked for them, we are not willing to sacrifice them, or we are not called to do what we think we are called to do. I’m pretty sure God will not ask us to do things that we are not equipped to do.

Someone else might say, “But I’m too old.” If you think you’re too old, well… you probably are. At least in your mind. Older might mean slower. Older might mean different values. Older might even mean failing health. But older doesn’t have to mean “cant;” at least for most of us.

I would encourage you today to ask yourself these questions, no matter your age. “What am I doing for the Kingdom? What am I doing in the Name of Jesus Christ? What am I doing for the poor, widows, orphans, elderly??? WHAT AM I DOING?!” Life is short. If you going to do anything you better do it now.

Below is an anecdote sent by a friend. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

A C-130 (a large cargo plane) was lumbering along when a cocky F-16 fighter jet flashed by. The jet jockey decided to show off.

The fighter jock told the C-130 pilot, ‘Watch

this!’ and promptly went into a barrel roll

followed by a steep climb. 

He then finished with a sonic boom as he

broke the sound barrier.

 

The F-16 pilot asked the C-130 pilot what he

thought of that?

The C-130 pilot said, ‘That was impressive, but

watch this!’  

The C-130 droned along for about 5 minutes

and then the C-130 pilot came back on and

said: ‘What did you think of that?’  

Puzzled, the F-16 pilot asked, ‘What the heck

did you do?’  

The C-130 pilot chuckled.

‘I stood up, stretched my legs, walked to the

back, took a bathroom break, then got a cup of coffee and

a cinnamon roll.’  

When you are young & foolish – speed & flash

may seem a good thing!

When you get older & smarter –

comfort & dull is not such a bad thing!  

Us older folks understand this one, it’s called

S.O.S.

Slower, Older and Smarter….

 

3 thoughts on “Old age

  1. You ? Old ? Au contraire , mon vieux , you are just getting started . In July I went to a party for a couple here , celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary and her 90th birthday ( his 93rd was in April ) . Still young in spirit – both of them and wonderful people ( and members of First Presbyterian of DeLand ) . Sussy and I gave them these Colombian hats …. to celebrate the event .

    Now there is a target for both of us to aim for . When Sussy and I have our 70th wedding anniversary , I will be ‘just’ 137 years old . LOL

    Alex

Leave a Reply

