Throwing

May 12, 2014

When I was a kid my cousin Glenn and I did about everything you could do with a baseball, glove and bat… which with only two people is somewhat… shall I say… limited. We played “rundown” when there was a third person, “home run derby”, “pitch and hit”, and your basic “pitch and catch.”

Baseball helped to teach me about many things. For example I didn’t know that storm windows had two panes until a ball pitched by me and hit by Glenn gracefully arched through the bathroom window in our house. My dad was… shall I say… not pleased. (I recall not being pleased myself on one occasion when Ben threw a rock at David from INSIDE OUR HOUSE and it landed in our front yard after passing through our front window.) On another occasion Glenn and I were playing “pitch and catch” on the street in front of Glenn’s house. Each time one of us missed the ball (usually me) we had to chase it WAY down the street. Sooooooo we two geniuses figured that if we played ACROSS the street then missed balls would only go as far as the yard in front of each house. It seems to me that it was the first pitch that Glenn threw that skipped under my glove bounced off of the lawn behind me and gently nestled into the living room of the house being used as a backstop. Oh I should say it went through the picture window first. I guess baseballs and windows are or were a part of growing up in America. Maybe “were” because now boys break windows on their television screens with a reset button. Not nearly as much fun! And there is little awareness of the brokenness of the brokenness. Do you know what I mean? When a baseball goes through a window… well the glass is irreparably broken… no glue will EVER make that window look right again. Windows shatter! They sliver! They break… again… irreparably. It would have taken a miracle to put the aforementioned picture window back together again! That brings me to my thought for today.

John Calvin defined original sin in his Institutes of the Christian Religion as follows:

Original sin, therefore, seems to be a hereditary depravity and corruption of our nature, diffused into all parts of the soul, which first makes us liable to God’s wrath, then also brings forth in us those works which Scripture calls “works of the flesh” (Gal 5:19). And that is properly what Paul often calls sin. The works that come forth from it – such as adulteries, fornications, thefts, hatreds, murders, carousings – he accordingly calls “fruits of sin” (Gal 5:19–21), although they are also commonly called “sins” in Scripture, and even by Paul himself.[51]

Leave a Reply

