Third sabbatical post

Some of you may recall that before leaving I sent you some pictures of the place I will be spending part of my Sabbatical. Let me refresh you regarding the circumstances. This property belongs to a dear friend of Ellen’s and mine (and her siblings)… Jeanie Wilson. It has been in her family I believe since the 1930’s. The house sits at the end of a ¼ mile long driveway off of one of the main roads leading out of Cambridge Maryland. The driveway and the house are located in the middle of a heavily wooded area. 25 feet from the back door sits a body of water. Not sure what it’s called but it feeds into the Choptank River which eventually flows into the Chesapeake Bay. There are a number of “neighbors” but few of them are here for the winter. The point I want to make in all of this is… It is dark here! When there is no moon and the clouds cover the stars… it is DARK! It’s not depressing or bleak… just DARK. Did I mention that it’s DARK?!?! When I was falling asleep last night I noticed that one of the houses across the water 250-300 yards away and at least 1/3 of a mile downstream had a light on. I was struck by how little light is necessary in the midst of excessive darkness to brighten things. This light was quite a ways away but yet I could still distinguish things in my room. And trust me… it was really dark in my room. Or did I say that already?

Do you know what the scripture says about Gods children being light?   Matthew 5 says this:

14 “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven…

There is much darkness in the world and believers are called to cast light into that darkness. The good news is this… we don’t have to be great evangelists, or Mother Theresa like… We just have to be who God called us to be. Use the gifts given to us. And we can make a difference. Our light may not be a giant spot light… but it doesn’t have to be!! I wonder… whose life might you brighten this day? Live your life as one desirous of glorifying and honoring our God.

Leave a Reply

