Thankfulness

November 19, 2012

You know, it’s not that I wasn’t thankful for things before I went on this most recent trip to Tanzania, India and Thailand. And it’s not that I wasn’t aware of how blessed we are in this country. And it’s not that I… well you get it. I have to confess that I definitely have a different perspective on things now. Things that I surely took for granted. Not that I am selfish (I hope) and think that I simply deserve certain amenities. I just didn’t think about them before. Anyway, below I have listed some things that I am now very aware of and thankful for.

  • I don’t know if “absence makes the heart grow fonder”. I mean I don’t love my family any more now than I did before. But, absence surely makes the heart ache. I am not built to be away from my family for long stretches of time.
  • I’m thankful for clean water.
  • I’m thankful for being able to drink water from the faucet.
  • I’m thankful for water that runs 24 hours a day.
  • I’m thankful for a shower.
  • I’m thankful for western toilet facilities…
  • I’m thankful for conscientious/quality workmanship.
  • I’m thankful for dependable electricity.
  • I’m thankful for my car.
  • I’m thankful for roomy cars. (I was quite the spectacle jammed into some very small automobiles.)
  • I’m thankful for my motorcycle… large enough to haul me around.
  • I’m thankful for considerate drivers.
  • I’m thankful for stop signs.
  • I’m thankful for red lights that people pay attention to.
  • I’m thankful for lines on the road.
  • I’m thankful for what we think of as traffic jams… they are NOTHING!!
  • I’m thankful for people who stand in line and wait their turn.
  • I’m thankful for organized airports where they know you don’t know what you’re doing.
  • I’m thankful for considerate people.
  • I’m thankful for lines to stand in rather than amoebas of people pushing and shoving.
  • I’m thankful for a beautiful worship facility.
  • I’m thankful for high quality medical care.
  • I’m thankful for a cool home in hot weather and a warm home in cold weather.
  • I’m thankful for a relatively clean, well kept countryside.
  • I’m thankful for laws that cause us to keep our country that way… (see preceding comment)
  • I’m thankful for roads that are relatively smooth and passable.

Well the truth is this list could go on for quite some time… I hope you get the idea. I should add that I am not being critical of other countries… it’s just that in some areas they are not where we are here in the U.S. Let me add my last word of thanksgiving:

I am thankful for men and women who have given their lives to serve our Lord… on some occasions in very uncomfortable circumstances. They have left their homes, their families, comfortable amenities, and luxuries that we take for granted. They are the heroes of our faith.  And tragically they are, for the most part, unsung. I don’t know what your circumstances are today… if it is possible for you to contact a missionary and give them a word of encouragement… DO IT!!! It will be greatly appreciated.

Blessings during this Thanksgiving holiday!

Leave a Reply

