Stink bugs

October 3, 2012

Okay, first things first… I have not yet left for Africa. I had a glitch with a visa and needed to delay my departure a bit. Thank goodness for Sue Prota who caught my mistake or I would literally have been stranded in a foreign country! I will be soaring into the skies this Saturday morning at 6:00 am.

Now for less important things. I don’t know how old I was… maybe 10. It must have been in the mid 1960’s. We had one of those cycles of “tent caterpillars.” You know what I mean right? They come in force like every 7 years or so. But the year I speak of was the worst one I ever remember. Every tree available that those cursed caterpillars could weave their cotton candy cocoons in, they did. And then of course the time came for them to “hatch” and they began to crawl EVERYWHERE. Every hard surface was covered with caterpillar guts and green and yellow slimy guck. I remember being outside one day and seeing literally thousands of those hairy demons crawling up the side of my house. It was one of the most disgusting things I have ever seen (not the most disgusting since I was there for all 4 of my children’s births). So, what does this have to do with anything? Well I came home yesterday to find the outside of my house plastered with stink bugs! Not dozens, not hundreds or even thousands… mega bajilloins!! They were everywhere… like those caterpillars were! My motorcycle was on the porch and when I took it on the road stink bugs flew out of every crevasse. (I can’t be sure but I think they had little leather jackets on.) To make matters worse, when they gather in mass they stink without being crushed… they do it for fun I think.

Of course as Christians we have somewhat of a dilemma. I mean these little “buggers” are part of God’s creation. I don’t know if the Lord had an off day or what but for some reason He thought these portrayers of putridness, revelers of revulsion and delineators of odoriferous botheration (aren’t thesaurus’s great!!) were necessary for us for… what… character building? Well, the real question is “what to do, what to do?”

In our house we have come to this conclusion… since they are part of God’s creation… we usher them back to Him as quickly as we can. Usually we have multiple burials at sea. Each little created being gets wrapped in its own “soft white paper” and gets… well… the swirly of its life. On some occasions they get sucked into the darkened vortex of the vacuum never to be heard from or seen again.

Ah, the joy of these little funerals. Enjoy them while you can… these little buggers won’t be around forever… Will they?!?!

Leave a Reply

