Sabbatical begins

January 2012

Dear Friends,

Few of us like to read long emails so I will keep this short. I arrived safely in Cambridge Maryland last Thursday early evening. The house and the setting are beautiful and more relaxing than I deserve. I have spent most of my time reading and sleeping. It has been a long time since I have slept all night for this many nights in a row! Usually my regiment has something to do with waking at 3:00 a.m. and not falling back asleep until 4 or 5. I guess I regressed back to infancy! I am now a grown up again.

The circumstances in the house are somewhat unique. There is electric baseboard heat so each space is on its own thermostat for the most part. I only heat the rooms that I actually use and shut the doors to those I don’t. So, walking from the restroom in the master bedroom to the kitchen on the other side of the house requires opening and closing 5 doors. Sort of like living in a submarine while on General Quarters. You old navy folk will get that. I have heard about it.

I finished 4 books this week and immersed myself in scripture. Psalm 1:2 says “…but their delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law they meditate day and night.” There is a difference between “reading” the Word and “meditating” on it. Let me suggest that you read one verse of a Psalm today that you find meaningful and try meditating on it as you go through your day.

Once again, I am so thankful to the Saints at Mt. Vernon Church for giving me this opportunity.

I do not have internet service here and must go out to a local Burger King for service so I may not get this sent today.

Leave a Reply

