Dubai

October 29, 2012… 3:00 a.m. Dubai , United Arab Emerits

Well ok, so I thought my last ruminations was the final one from outside the country… BUT a little change of plans has altered that. My flight from Dubai to NYC has been cancelled because of hurricane Sandy. The airlines will put me up here for as many days as it takes to get things normalized back home. There is a slight problem with that… there is some sort of festival here in Dubai and there are few hotel rooms available in the city… we’ll see. They are saying it could be as many as 3 days but I’m hoping we might get out of here tomorrow. Just one more part of the adventure! I’m disappointed since I was really looking forward to getting home tomorrow. A flight is leaving here for Washington D.C. shortly but there is no guarantee that I can get out of there. I considered renting a car in D.C. but if there is snow and the roads are not cleared I’m still stuck… plus I’ll have been without sleep for over 35 hours… not a good formula for driving in bad weather. I guess I’ll hole up here for a while and see what transpires. No telling what God might have in store. That being said… I’m tired and a bed would look good right about now. I think it’s around 5 or 6 in the morning where I left from in Thailand so it’s been a while since I have had any sleep. For those of you who travel regularly… I do not envy you!

Ellen tells me Ben did a good job preaching this morning. No telling what that guy is capable of .

I should add something about my trip that I have not mentioned previously… for the good folks of Mt. Vernon… You should feel really good about the missionaries we support. These are really good people who have been called to a life that few of us would venture into even if we got a personal telegram from God. Michael Harrar said something to me that really struck me… he said that he and Bev do not like to think of or call themselves “missionaries.” They like to think of themselves as part of the staff of our church and other churches that support them. I really like that. I’m thinking we ought to list our missionaries as part of our staff somehow.

Well, it’s 3:30 am and I’m rambling and tired. I’ll send this note when I find a wifi connection. Blessings,

Bill Little

Hmmm… just realized I’ll miss the opportunity to vote if I don’t get home soon… well that solves a difficult problem for me… don’t know who to cast my ballot for. Is that Ross Perot guy still running??? Speaking of the election… I have been blessed to be away for the past three weeks so I didn’t have to endure the endless commercials and phone calls. By the way, why can politicians outlaw telemarketers calling us but political types are still allowed to violate the sanctity of our homes with endless recorded messages? That sounds a little… fishy… to me!

The next day…

I got into a hotel room at 6:00 this morning (Monday). I am scheduled to go to NYC on Wednesday depending on weather and flights. I fell asleep around 6:30 totally exhausted… I slept all the way until 7:30… big whoop, one whole hour! My body is really messed up and doesn’t know which end is up!

I just took a long walk. The hotel is about 2 miles from the airport but part of Dubai… what a beautiful city. Very clean and modern. I was about a mile from my hotel when I realized I had no money, no identification, and no passport… Not the brightest move!

Someone needs to clarify a mystery for me… I have been in 4 or 5 of the hottest countries on the planet and no one wears shorts?!?!?! Well, except for the sweaty American. Except for the Muslims where many of the men wear robes, all the men in these places wear long pants… YUCK!

Also, there is an interesting dynamic in many of the countries in this part of the world. For example the hotel I’m in looks spectacular from the outside. And inside there is tons of marble and ceramic used… but here’s the rub… even a cursory look indicates shoddy workmanship. This was the case in some of the other countries as well. Here and in Bangkok you will find little 1 or 2 inch steps in the middle of a floor… why? Because the contractors measured wrong and needed to compensate. I don’t know if it is a lack of pride in their work, a lack of skill (I doubt this one) or what but it is very evident.

Well, I need to get this in “the mail”. I am surely praying for those who are in the path of Sandy. Blessings to you all.

Leave a Reply

